Financial Transformation #TransformationTuesday #DaveRamsey #DebtFreeJourney

This is a tough one. My spouse and I have been struggling to get out of debt for a year now. We’ve been in debt since before we met and married. But this past year, we decided to take our finances into our own hands.

Then we had to pay taxes and hadn’t planned enough.

Then we had a child.

Then I got pregnant with a tumor.

Then my spouse lost his job.

Then I had surgery, and I will continue to have weekly follow ups and monthly follow ups for a year.

Life never really goes as planned. If there’s one thing I’ve learned in my 27 years, it’s that. Flat out, Life never goes as planned. It’s good to have a plan, don’t get me wrong, but it’s also good to have at least three back up plans to go along with that.

We subscribe to the Dave Ramsey method of paying off debt. Since my spouse had about 6 weeks of unemployment, I stepped up my “Dave Jobs” or in other words jobs that are on the side to bring in that extra income. It means I have to work harder and longer hours. It means that instead of spending time with my family, I’m attached to my computer. It means that I can provide for my family, and that we will be out of debt in no time.

No time meaning 5-6 years. This is a long journey peoples!

For us, currently, planning for medical bills is the hard part. I have a $2000 surgery bill incoming, I just paid a $400 doctor visit, blood work, and pre-op bill, and I have weekly blood work coming in throughout the rest of this summer at the very least.

It’s hard to plan, but I know we can do it. I know that we can go into saving mode, that we can create a medical sinking fund, and that through tenacity and strength, my spouse and I can make it through the rest of this year without going further into debt.

How do I know this?

Because we have a plan. We know what our abilities are. We’re not afraid to work hard and work crappy jobs for the money. We know that in the end, we’ll be able to live like no one else because of a few years of our long lives we lived like no one else.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

