Transforming My Inner Self #TransformationTuesday

If there’s one thing to be said about starting something new, it’s that in order for a full and complete transformation to happen, you have to take it one step at a time. Recently, I feel like I’ve taken five steps forward and three steps back.

I’m writing this Thursday, and praying and hoping that on Monday when I have my post-op appointment that I’ll be released for full and active duty, as one might say. I desperately miss working out. Like really, truly, utterly miss it.

That, right there, is a transformation in itself. I used to hate working out. I used to hate running (still do for the most part), but I desperately want to be able to move again. After being on pelvic rest for the better part of a month, I want to feel that energy spike up again! And, let’s face it, I really need to work on keeping up with Spider-man again. That kid is FAST!

Transformations do not happen over night. We’re not Jesus here, people. Our transformations take loads of time, not just physical transformations but mental. I need to keep reminding myself of this. I need to keep thinking about how much time it takes to make a change inside me, and then I need to give myself the time and patience to do that.

You do, too, for that matter.

My transformation to wanting to workout happened over the period of 4 months. My transformation toward healing is probably going to take longer, but I know I can do it. I took one small step toward being a healthier me by deciding to work out for fifteen days. That was it. One 15 day challenge, and I absolutely loved it.

Then I committed to a 30-day Challenge, and I was utterly hooked.

That doesn’t mean I didn’t struggle. There were days I didn’t want to work out. Days I didn’t work out. Days I put 100% of my effort into being in the moment and strengthening my body, and there were days where all I could manage was 10%.

It’s a transformation. It happens slowly over time. There are steps forward, and there are steps backward. The important part is making the commitment to transforming yourself.

 

So are you going to make the commitment today?

Why are you going to do it?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

